Diversity Committee

The Society of Pediatric Psychology (SPP) is committed to promoting diversity in pediatric psychology research and clinical care, to increasing the number of SPP members from diverse backgrounds and to providing services and resources for SPP members who are members of underrepresented groups. Based on this commitment, the SPP executive committee established a standing Diversity Committee in 2006, with the goal of promoting diversity issues and research within the division. More recently, the SPP membership passed a bylaw amendment to establish a member-at-large position for diversity issues. Activities of the Diversity Committee include the Diversity Research Grant and Poster Award.

The SPP Diversity Committee, which includes the Member-at-Large for diversity as well as the Diversity Special Interest Group (SIG) consists of 10 SPP members from a variety of institutions.

Committee Members

Member-at-Large – Jessica Valenzuela, PhD 
Membership Committee Liaison – Yelena Wu, PhD 
Newsletter Chair – Monica Mitchell, PhD 
Diversity Grant & Awards Chair – Steven Reader, PhD
SIG Chair – Idia Thurston, PhD & Elizabeth Pulgaron, PhD 
SIG Secretary – Wendy Gray, PhD
SIG Student Board Members: Gabrielle Banks, MS, Sarah Martin, MA, and Megan Schaefer, BA

SPP members who are interested in learning more about the Diversity Committee Jessica Valenzuela. Those interested in joining the Diversity SIG should express interest via our webpage.


Upload Picture: 
Picture Heading: 
Division 54 Journals

Related Resources

Progress Notes