Mary Jo Kupst Trainee Grant for Research in Resilience

Deadline: October 15,2020
Sponsor: Division 54

This award was initiated in part through funds from the 2012 Society of Pediatric Psychology (SPP) regional conference in Milwaukee to honor Mary Jo Kupst, PhD’s career contributions. It is designed to help facilitate trainee research that will provide a novel contribution and advance the field of pediatric psychology specifically in the area of resilience. A yearly award of $1,000 will be made to a trainee who proposes a research project examining resilience and/or family functioning with a pediatric psychology population. The award is available to any graduate student, intern or postdoctoral fellow who is a member of SPP and involved in a program involving substantial training in pediatric psychology. The research project for which funding is requested must be conducted under the supervision of a faculty advisor and may include work leading to a master’s or doctoral degree or may be an independent study. 

The funds are intended to support research scholarship to be completed while a trainee is enrolled in a graduate program or in a postdoctoral fellowship position. Funds are not provided for convention and meeting travel, indirect costs of the university, stipends of principal investigators or costs associated with manuscript preparation.


The applicant must be a graduate student, intern or fellow who is a current member of SPP. Funds are not provided for convention and meeting travel, indirect costs of the institution, stipends of principal investigators or costs associated with manuscript preparation.

To apply, please submit the following materials in one PDF document. 

  1. An abstract of 100 words or fewer, summarizing the proposed research.

  2. A maximum 50-word statement describing how the study meets the call to “examine resilience and/or family functioning within a pediatric psychology population.”

  3. A four-page (maximum), single-spaced proposal that describes the following, (a) project objectives, aims, and hypotheses, (b) relevant introduction, (c) design, method and procedures, (d) data analytic plan, and (e) references. The significance and innovative aspects of the study should be specifically addressed.

  4. A detailed budget that includes specific item amounts and budget justification for each item. If the project will require more than the $1,000 requested, please include an explanation of the expected sources of the remaining funds necessary to complete the project.

  5. A brief statement regarding the qualifications of the student investigator, past relevant research/training, and a statement regarding membership in Div. 54.

  6. Applicant CV.

  7. The faculty supervisor must write a letter of recommendation to accompany the student's application. 

Deadline for submission is Oct.15. Applications should be emailed in one PDF document to Idia Thurston, PhD.

Winner Requirements

 The award winner is required to submit a progress report to the SPP Executive Committee (contact Idia Thurston, PhD, for details) on progress/outcome of the project at 6 months and one year from the date of the award. IRB approval is required no later than 3 months post award notification (an additional 3 month progress report will be required if IRB documentation has not been submitted). Also, the award winner is required to include an acknowledgement of receipt of the award in any publication resulting from the study.

COVID-19 Supplement

In light of COVID19, we are requesting that each grant applicant include a brief one paragraph addendum (on a separate page) with their submission. This paragraph should describe the feasibility of completing the proposed research in a one year period given current restrictions at your institution. All applications should be submitted as a single pdf document (except for the COVID19 addendum which should be submitted separately) and emailed to:  Idia Thurston,



2020: Kelly Rea (Mentors: Ronald Blount, PhD, nad Bonney Reed, PhD)

2019: Jenna Shapiro (Mentor: Jill Weissberg-Benchell, PhD)

2018: Hayden Mbroh (Mentor: Kelli Triplett, PhD)

2017: Megan Schaefer (Mentor: Wendy Gray, PhD)

2016: Lindsay Huffhines (Mentor: Yo Jackson, PhD, ABPP)

2015: Sarah Westen

2014: Stephanie Hullmann

2013: Laura Cousins


Share This Page :